top of page

Libby by OverDrive: For Book Lover's on a Budget.

As my "MUST READ" list grows longer with each visit to Pinterest, Book Riot, and conversations with my bibliophile friends, I have taken to looking for more cost effective options, before Amazon and Barnes and Noble bankrupt me. For the record, if that day ever comes, it will be well worth it! In an effort to be more fiscally responsible I decided to go back to the Public Library. Thankfully, I recently moved to a new, FABULOUS, home within walking distance to the local library. However, as we are in the age of technology, and I am an impatient person, I also decided to give the OverDrive App a try.

What is OverDrive? Well, it is not the 18th sequel to the Fast and the Furious franchise, though the name can be misleading. It is an app that allows you to borrow e-books and audiobooks from your local library, using your library card, from the comfort of your own home. This can be done on several devices making it quick and convenient...assuming the title you are looking for is available.

The app is free to download and can be used on your phone, tablet, kindle, and desktop! I'll be honest, this was not the easiest app to use initially. I was confused by the constant need to enter my library card number. It seems a bit redundant until you find the box that says, "Save my library card number." I was getting pretty frustrated...All I wanted to do was check out Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.

After taking a brief moment to vent to my biblio bestie about this situation she shared that OverDrive had recently released a newer version called Libby! Which I think is ADORABLE!

Once I downloaded Libby and entered my Library Card Number, the book previously downloaded to OverDrive (Eat, Pray, Love) were immediately available on my "Bookshelf". The graphics are vibrant and clear, the app functions smoothly and I love the "Book Club Recommendations" on the home screen. This app offers so many opportunities to explore titles before checking them out. There is a preview feature for both text and audiobooks. Personally, I really appreciate the audio preview. I like to know that the voice I will be listening to for the next several hours is pleasing to my ears. Returns are easy, and you will never have a late fee again!

Overall, I am excited for the possibilities of feeding my need to read without busting the bank! What are your experiences with Libby? Are there any other apps that you would recommend? Leave a comment below!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page